Research Funding Agencies

1. Department of Science and Technology (DST)

The promotion of science and technology in India is greatly influenced by the Department of Science & Technology (DST). The department is involved in various kinds of activities. These activities include supporting advanced research and development of innovative technologies, as well as meeting the technological needs of the general public by developing relevant skills and technologies.

2. Department of Biotechnology (DBT)

The Ministry of Science and Technology in India has a department called the Department of Biotechnology that is in charge of managing research and commercialization in the fields of modern biology and biotechnology in India.

3. Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR)

The Council of Scientific & Industrial Research (CSIR) is a modern research and development organization that is renowned for its advanced knowledge base in various fields of science and technology. CSIR possesses an extensive network consisting of 3 Innovation Complexes, 39 outreach centers, 37 national laboratories, and five units that are spread across India. As of June 2021, CSIR has approximately 3460 active scientists who are supported by around 4350 scientific and technical personnel, demonstrating the organization's extensive research and development knowledge and background. Furthermore, CSIR encompasses a broad range of scientific and technological fields, including but not limited to information technology, environmental engineering, instrumentation, aeronautics, mining, nanotechnology, biotechnology, genomics, pharmaceuticals, chemicals, geophysics, and oceanography.

4. Ministry of Earth Sciences (MoES)

The Government of India has entrusted the Ministry of Earth Sciences (MoES) with the responsibility of offering various services related to seismology, hydrology, ocean and coastal conditions, climate, weather, and natural disasters. Additionally, the ministry is charged with responsibly exploring and utilizing marine resources, both living and non-living, while also conducting research in the Himalayas, the Antarctic, and Arctic.

5. Department of Atomic Energy (DAE)

On August 3, 1954, the Department of Atomic Energy (DAE) was established under the direct supervision of the Prime Minister by means of a Presidential Order. As per the Resolution establishing the AEC, the Chairman of the Atomic Energy Commission is automatically held by the Secretary to the Government of India in the Department of Atomic Energy.

The DAE has been actively involved in advancing nuclear power technology, as well as exploring the various uses of radiation technology in basic, industry, medicine and agriculture research.

6. Department of Space (DoS)

The main goal of the Department of Space (DOS) is to promote the nation's overall development through the advancement and application of space science and technology. DOS has developed the following programs in connection to this:

7. Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR)

The Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR) operates independently and is managed by the Department of Agricultural Research and Education (DARE), which is part of the Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare in the Indian government. The organization that was previously referred to as the Imperial Council of Agricultural Research.

8. Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR)

The Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR), located in New Delhi, is an important organization in India responsible for the development, coordination, and advancement of biomedical research. It holds the distinction of being one of the oldest medical research organizations globally. The Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR) has constantly attempted to respond to the increasing requirements of scientific progress in the field of biomedical research, while also striving to identify feasible resolutions to the health challenges faced by the nation. The Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR) has undergone significant transformation since its previous designation as the Indian Research Fund Association (IRFA). However, the Council acknowledges that it still faces significant obstacles in its endeavors to attain scientific advancements and meet health objectives.

9. Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology (MeitY)

M3itY endeavors to advance e-Governance as a way to empower citizens and build the inclusive and sustainable growth of the Electronics, IT & ITeS industries. Additionally, it seeks to improve India's involvement in Internet Governance by adopting a comprehensive strategy that encompasses the cultivation of human resources, the promotion of research and development, the stimulation of innovation, the optimization of efficiency through digital services, and the guarantee of a secure cyberspace.

10. Ministry of Environment, Forest, and Climate Change (MoEF & CC)

The Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change (MoEFCC) serves as the central government's primary agency responsible for the strategic planning, promotion, coordination, and supervision of India's environmental and forestry policies and programs.

The Ministry also functions as the central agency in the nation for the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), South Asia Co-operative Environment Programme (SACEP), International Centre for Integrated Mountain Development (ICIMOD), and for the monitoring and implementation of the United Nations Conference on Environment and Development (UNCED). The Ministry is responsible for addressing matters pertaining to various multilateral bodies, including the Commission on Sustainable Development (CSD), Global Environment Facility (GEF), and regional bodies such as the Economic and Social Council for Asia and Pacific (ESCAP) and South Asian Association for Regional Co-operation (SAARC), in relation to environmental concerns.

11. Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE)

The Ministry of New and Renewable Energy, under the governance of the Indian Government, is led by the present Union Cabinet Minister, Raj Kumar Singh. Its primary responsibilities involve the facilitation of research and development activities.

12. Science and Engineering Research Board (SERB)

The SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING RESEARCH BOARD (SERB) is a leading national organization that enhances the quality and global impact of scientific and engineering research in India. It achieves this by providing specialized assistance for research and development, thus speeding up progress in these fields.